Millstone's Vegan Friendly Ciders

by Zachary Kaiser, Sales & Marketing Coordinator

We have always used whole local fruit from farmers we know and appreciate. Sourcing apples from orchards that produce wonderful cider apple varieties that make a delicate, precise, and complex cider. We make our cider without any additional sulfites, unpasteurized, and unfiltered. 

When looking into becoming a vegan friendly product it became clear that a lot of the ethos we believe in fit well in line with many beliefs in the vegan community; no animal based fining agents, whole raw fruit, and vegetable/fruit based fermentation. 

Therefore, we have decided, due to additional popular demand, to move forward in making sure our products (except for our cysers and meads) vegan friendly. We are in a transition, but we are excited to work on making our ciders vegan friendly.

We have been working hard to transition to having as much of our products as possible be vegan friendly. From here on out, our ciders will be exclusively conditioned using cryo-cider (or ice cider) made from our juice sourced from Brown's Orchard

Originally, we used local raw honey to carbonate and condition our ciders in each bottle. Now, we will be using cryo-cider to make these ciders vegan friendly. 

As defined by The Vegan Society, veganism "is a way of living which seeks to exclude, as far as is possible and practicable, all forms of exploitation of, and cruelty to, animals for food, clothing or any other purpose... One thing in common with all vegans is a plant based diet avoiding animal foods, such as meat (including shellfish, fish, and insects), dairy, eggs, and honey - as well as products like leather and any tested on animals." 

Our cysers and meads actively use raw honey within 150 miles of our Mill. We ferment these separately from our ciders to ensure there is no crossover and make sure we document, which barrels include honey in them. As always, all of our products are gluten free and contain no additional sulfites. 

Below is our list of ciders that are considered vegan friendly: 

Farmgate (any new bottles without a Batch Number)
Hopvine (any new bottles without a Batch Number)
Gingeroot (any new bottles without a Batch Number)
Rhuberry (any new bottles without a Batch Number)
Cherrykriek (any new bottles without a Batch Number)
Sidra Americana
Vin De Pomme
Heirloom X
Pearry
Stonewall

Below are the list of ciders that are not considered vegan friendly, that contain honey:

Farmgate (any new bottles with a Batch Number)
Hopvine (any new bottles with a Batch Number)
Gingeroot (any new bottles with a Batch Number)
Rhuberry (any new bottles with a Batch Number)
Cherrykriek (any new bottles with a Batch Number)
Cobbler
Ciderberry
Debauched
All products labeled as a cyser (cider blended with mead)
All products labeled as a mead

If you have any other questions regarding which of our products are vegan friendly please contact Zach Kaiser